Maritime Forum

Maritime Forum Themes


"EUROMARES - Marine and maritime research and innovation as a keystone for the integrated assessment and sustainable use of the European Seas" (4.1.) day 1

Event date:
18/05/2010 - 09:00 to 18:00
Table of Contents


    P R O G R A M M E

    Tuesday 18, 9:00-18:00

    Room: Teatro Auditorio


    9:00-9:45 Conference opening and welcoming speeches

    Vicente Álvarez Areces, President of the Government of the Principality of Asturias: The Integrated Maritime Policy, the role of the European Marine and Maritime Research and the Marine Strategy Framework Directive       

    Paz Fernández Felgueroso, Mayor of Gijón, Spain

    Alicia Paz Antolín, Director General for the Sustainability of the Coast and the Sea, Ministry of the Environment and Rural and Marine Affairs, Spain       

    Paul Nemitz, Head of Unit Maritime Policy coordination and development, Directorate General Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission

    Enrique Tortosa Martorell, Director General, Spanish Institute of Oceanography (IEO), Spain         

    9:45-11:15 Session 1: Research in marine renewable energies and maritime transport/shipping and shipbuilding

    CHAIR: Waddah Saab, Research Programme Officer, Surface Transport , Directorate General Research, European Commission

    RAPPORTEUR: Geoffrey O’Sullivan, Marine Institute, Ireland

    Nathalie Rousseau, European Ocean Energy Association, (EU-OEA)

    Cristina Huertas, Director Marine Energy, Inabensa-Abengoa, Spain

    Iver Iversen, Business Development Director, Wilhelmsen Shipping


    11:35-13:00 Session 2: Research and innovation related to sustainable fisheries and mariculture.

    CHAIR: Eduardo Balguerías, Deputy Director, Spanish Oceanographic Institut

    RAPPORTEUR: Willem Brugge, Directorate General Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission            

    Paul Connolly, Director, Fisheries Science, Marine Institute, Ireland

    Michael Kaiser, School of Ocean Sciences, University of Wales-Bangor 

    Martin Scholten, Director Animal Sciences Group, University of Wageningen, the Netherlands    

    Courtney Hough, General Secretary, European Aquaculture, Technology and Innovation Platform (EaTip)

    Jacques Fuchs, Head of Sector Fisheries and Aquaculture, Directorate General Research, European Commission


    14:30-16:30 Session 3: Research and innovation related to marine biotechnologies

    CHAIR: Garbiñe Guiu Etxeberria, Research Programme Officer, Directorate General Research, European Commission

    RAPPORTEUR: Javier Pantoja, Advisor, Ministry for Environment and Rural and Marine Affairs, Spain

    Carmen Cuevas, Director Research and Development PharmaMar 

    Jan Olafsen, University of Tromsø, Norway 

    Beatriz Reguera, Spanish Institute of Oceanography 

    Mercedes García-González, University of Seville, Spain


    16:30-18:00 Session 4: Research and innovation related to underwater marine technologies and European research infrastructures

    CHAIR: Klaus Wallmann, Head of the Research Unit "Marine Geosystems", Leibniz-Institute of Marine Sciences, IFM-Geomar, Kiel, Germany

    RAPPORTEUR: Antonio M. Pascoal, Professor, Technical Superior Institute, Portugal

    Gilles Ollier, Head of the Earth Observation Sector, Directorate for Environment, European Commission

    Chantal Compère, IFREMER, Institut français de recherche pour l'exploitation de la mer (French Research Institute forthe Exploitation of the Sea), France         

    Vincent Rigaud, Director Underwater Systems, Ifremer, France

    John Campbell, Technical Director, International Association of Oil and Gas Producers