Maritime Forum

EOOS Events Advisory Committee Kick-Off Meeting

Event date:
08/02/2018 - 15:30 to 18:00
Table of Contents
    To assess progress in setting up a European Ocean Observing System and advise on the EOOS Forum and 21-23 November Conference



    The EOOS A.C. Kick-Off meeting will take place from 14:30 till 17:00 on 8 February 2018 in Brussels at DG MARE (Rue Joseph II 99, MARE ROOM J99 05/SDR).

    To pass through security make sure to bring a valid ID / Passport. If you fill in the registration form, your entrance will be quicker .

    Draft Agenda:

    • Welcome and tour de table

    • Status update on EOOS progress to date - Glenn Nolan (EuroGOOS) 

    • Terms of Reference (ToR) and role of the Advisory Committee - Jan-Bart Calewaert (EMODnet)

    • Update on draft EOOS Strategy outline and implementation plan - Kate Larkin (European Marine Board) and Glenn Nolan (EuroGOOS)

    • EOOS Stakeholder events

      • Preparations of the EOOS Forum (8/03/2018, Brussels) - Dina Eparkhina (EuroGOOS)

      • Structure, approach, main sessions and expected outputs of the EOOS Conference (21-23 November, Brussels) - Jan-Bart Calewaert (EMODnet Secretariat) & Kate Larkin (EMB)

      • Linking both stakeholder events

    • EOOS stakeholder engagement

      • Identification of key contacts and how to get them involved

      • Gaps in coverage (stakeholder communities, focal areas, …)

      • Major actions from various community that are ongoing that can contribute to EOOS e.g. in terms of aligning and integrating the current ocean observing system

    • EOOS-related events 2018 – Glenn Nolan (EuroGOOS)

    • Next meeting 9/02




    8 Feb 2018 KoM

    Agnes Robin

    DG RTD (Research Infrastructures)


    Marco Weydert

    DG RTD (Marine Resources Unit)


    Catherine Boyen

    Biological Station Roscoff – Euromarine


    Corine Lochet

    SHOM / Representative EU for IHO


    David Connor

    DG ENV


    George Petihakis

    EuroGOOS Vice-Chair


    Iain Shepherd



    Jacky Wood

    JPI Oceans


    Joaquín Tintoré 



    Sean Cullen

    Geological Survey of Ireland


    Nadia Pinardi



    Neil Holdsworth & Mark Dickey-Collas



    Pierre-Yves Le Traon

    Mercator Ocean / Ifremer


    Fabienne Jacq



    Susana Salvador



    Isabel Sousa-Pinto



    Phil Weaver (Chair)

    EMODnet Steering Committee Chair


    Glenn Nolan & Dina Eparkhina

    EuroGOOS Secretariat – EOOS SG Co-Chair


    Kate Larkin & Sheila Heylmans

    EMB Secretariat – EOOS SG Co-Chair


    Jan-Bart Calewaert, Andrée-Anne Marsan, Selene Alvarez Pena

    EMODnet Secretariat


    Add new comment

    It is not necessary to be logged in to provide comments but in that case comments will need to go through a moderator.
    This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.