Maritime Forum

Maritime Forum Themes


Workshop "Marine Litter: Plastic Soup and More"

Event date:
08/11/2010 - 08:15
Table of Contents

    Brussels, 8 November 2010, Berlaymont, room 'Robert Schuman' Draft Agenda

    09.00-10.00 Registration
    10.00- 10.15 Opening: Commissioner Janez Potočnik, Member of the European Commission, responsible for environment (confirmed)
    10.15-12.30 1. Pressure of Marine Litter and Monitoring
    10.15-10.30 Francois Galgani (Scientific Coordinator), IFREMER (confirmed)
    10.30-10.45 Ernesto Penas Lado (Director), European Commission DG MARE (requested)
    10.45-11.00 Soledad Blanco (Director), European Commission DG ENV (confirmed)
    11.00-11.15 Captain Charles Moore (Founder), Algalita Marine Research Foundation (confirmed)
    11.15-11.30 Intermezzo: Albert de Hoop (President, KIMO) (tbc)
    11.30-12.30 Discussion Session moderator: George Hanke (Scientist, Joint Research Centre)
    12.30-13.30 Lunch Break
    13.30-15.15 2. Education and Awareness
    13.30-13.45 David Osborn (Coordinator Global Programme of Action for the Protection of the Marine Environment from Land-based Activities), UNEP (confirmed)
    13.45-14.00 Alexandre Dangis (Managing Director), European Plastics Converters (confirmed)
    14.00-14.15 Monica Verbeek (Executive Director), Seas at Risk (tbc)
    14.15-14.30 Maud Fontenoy (Maud Fontenoy Foundation) (tbc)
    14.30-15.15 Discussion Session moderator Carlos Berrozpe Garcia (Head of Sector), European Commission DG ENV
    15.15-15.30 Coffee Break
    15.30-17.30 3. Strategies and Policy solutions
    15.30-15.45 Jean-Pierre De Grève (Deputy Executive Director), Plastics Europe (confirmed)
    15.45-16.00 MEP Keith Taylor (Green Party) (confirmed)
    16.00-16.15 Inge Lardinois (Head Unit Global Affairs), Ministry of Environment, Netherlands (tbc)
    16.15-16.30 MEP Antonyia Parvanova (ALDE) (confirmed)
    16.30-16.45 Sarah E. Morison (Marine Debris Division Deputy Chief), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, USA (confirmed)
    16.45-17.30 Discussion Session moderator: Claude Rouam (Head of Unit), European Commission DG ENV
    17.30-17.40 Conclusions: Gustaaf Borchardt (Director), European Commission DG ENV (confirmed)
    17.40-18.00 Press Conference (tbc)