Maritime Forum

Maritime Forum Themes

The Regional Advisory Councils (RACs) are consultative bodies responsible for issuing recommendations and suggestions on fisheries management to the Commission and the Member States. Seven RACs have been established so far - each of them covering particular activities, areas or fishing zones: the Baltic Sea RAC, the Long Distance Rac, the Mediterranean RAC, the North Sea RAC, the North Western Waters RAC, the South Western Waters RAC and the Pelagic RAC. RACs are stakeholder led bodies made up of representatives of the fisheries sector and of other interest groups (environmental organisations, recreational fishermen etc).
NWWRAC-Opinion on the Reform of the Common Fisheries Policy

Please find attached the NWWRAC Opinion on the Reform of the Common Fisheries Policy (18/12/2009)

Last update: 23/01/15


  AIPCE/CEP present its Finfish Study for 2009   STUDY EN

Last update: 23/01/15

ACFA/RACS: MINUTES of the Joint meeting - 29/9/2009, Brussels

  Minutes in English, Spanish and French of the Joint meeting ACFA/RACs on Fishing Opportunities for 2010  

Last update: 23/01/15

RAC Legal Framework

RACs were set up by Council Regulation (EC) N° 2371/2002 of 20 December 2002 on the conservation and sustainable exploitation of fisheries resources under the Common Fisheries Policy. (cf. attachment)

Last update: 23/01/15