Maritime Forum

The European Union is inextricably linked to the Arctic region by a unique combination of history, geography, economy and scientific achievements. Three Member States — Denmark (Greenland), Finland and Sweden — have territories in the Arctic. Two other Arctic states — Iceland and Norway — are members of the European Economic Area. Canada, Russia and the United States are strategic partners of the EU. European Arctic areas are a priority in the Northern Dimension policy. Beyond areas of national jurisdiction, the Arctic Ocean contains parts pertaining to the high seas and the seabed managed by the International Seabed Authority.

Council conclusions on Arctic issues

The Council adopted the following conclusions: “The Council recalls its conclusions of 8 December, 2008, that welcomed the Commission Communication of 20 November, 2008, on the European Union and the Arctic region.

Start date: 08/12/2009 - 10:45
Last update: 23/01/15

Commission Communication on the 'EU and the Arctic Region'

The European Commission adopted the Communication on the "EU and the Arctic Region" (COM (2008) 763 on 20 November 2008.

Last update: 23/01/15

Space and the Arctic

Under the auspices of the Swedish Presidency of the Council of the European Union, the Swedish National Space Board and the Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute together with the European Space Agency and the European Commission are jointly organising this workshop which will be hosted at the World Trade Centre, Stockholm, Sweden from 20 to 21 October 2009.

Start date: 20/10/2009 - 09:00
Last update: 17/02/10

Subscribe to Front page feed