Disable 2-step verification when device not available
If you device is not available at the moment but you still need to access My Area, you have the possibility to disable the 2-step. When clicking any of applications from My Area, select 2 as shown below.
You will be requested to provide the answers to your questions in an activate screen like the one below.
Provide the answers and click on Send Responses. If the answers are correct, you will directly access the application under My Area and you will get an email confirming that you deactivated the 2-step verification. No further confirmation will be displayed on the screen.
After removing a device from the list of your devices
You can remove a device from your devices, via Security Settings, clicking on the hyperlink "register your mobile or device" in order to access your EU Login account.
Or via the My account option from the account menu on the right upper-corner.
Then select my mobile devices / Delete a mobile device.
However, notice that whenever you remove a device, even if you add a second device, when clicking the My area, you will be shown the following recovery screen before actually being able to use the 2-factor verification.button to access
For security reasons, you need to authenticate using the answer to your three questions. Afterwards, you will be able to use your 2-factor verification as usual, so you will be shown the 2nd verification step missing screen once again, and when clicking on the button (option 1 below), you will proceed to use the 2-factor this time.
After using the panic button (external users only)
External users have the possibility to delete any device linked within their EU Login account using a "panic button" (internal users need to access Security Settings via the arrow below the image of their profile, and then clicking on the hyperlink "register your mobile or device" in order to access their EU Login account).
When clicking this button, a warning message will be shown informing that authentication by means of a device will not be possible any more. After confirming, you will get logged out.
You can log on back to your EU Login account using the usual password, but if the 2-step verification was enabled when deleting the associated devices, you will not have access to any of the applications under My Area, because you will be prompted to authenticate using your device.
In this case, you will have two possibilities:
- Deactivate 2-step providing the answer to the secret questions. Click on the button when prompted for your questions, enter the answer in the recovery screen and click on the button.
Register a new mobile device.
First, install the EU Login (ECAS Mobile) App in your new device.
Afterwards, you can register a new device going to Security Settings and clicking in the link to register a device.
Or via the My account option from the account menu on the right upper-corner and and clicking on Manage my mobile devices in the Your ECAS account.
Then click on Add a mobile device.
Provide a name for your new device and a four pin code.
Click on Submit. Go now to the EU Login app on your device and select Initialize (if by any chance EU Login had been set up in that device already, click on settings and then on the options menu (three dots in the upper-right corner, and select reset device).
Then scan the code which is being displayed on your pc. A message informing that there is a pending request for initialisation will be displayed on your app, after a couple of minutes it will be accepted and you will see a confirmation on your pc informing that the new device has been added to your account. You can use 2-step now with the new device:
After registering a new device, whenever you try to use it for first time, you will be shown a recovery screen first, where you need to enter the answer to your questions. After clicking on the button, you will be prompted to authenticate with the 2-factor authentication. Proceed as usual.