Fisheries Areas Network

FLAG Factsheets by theme

FLAGs are partnerships between fisheries actors and other local private and public stakeholders. Together, they design and implement a local development strategy to address their area´s needs be they economic, social and/or environmental. Based on their strategy, the FLAGs select and provide funding to local projects that contribute to local development in their areas, involving thousands of local stakeholders.

  • ES212

    The Bajo Nalón FLAG area is made up of just two municipalities (Muros de Nalón and Soto del Barco) in the Asturian region. This area also includes the Nalón river, the largest and most important river of the Spanish northern coast. Both municipalities are located at the mouth of the Nalón river.
  • ES213

    The FLAG territory is situated in the middle of the Asturian coastline in Northern Spain with Cape (“Cabo”) Peñas as a remarkable landmark in the area. In the 19th century the canning industry experienced a boom in the coastal cities of Candás and Luanco. Nowadays, the fishing industry has very much declined and the predominantly small scale fleet has been reduced to around 70 vessels and is still decreasing.
  • ES214

    The Sidra FLAG, located in the mid-eastern part of Asturias, consists of five municipalities: Colunga, Bimenes, Cabranes, Nava and Villaviciosa. The area spans 570km2 which is approximately 5% of the Asturian region.
  • ES215

    The Eastern Asturias FLAG area consists of four municipalities: Caravia, Ribadesella, Llanes and Ribadedeva. Although located on the periphery of Asturias region, the area’s location does not present any infrastructural or service insufficiencies. The area has a strong tourism sector, which represents nearly 80% of its economic activity.
  • ES216

    The FLAG is made up of three municipalities (San Vicente de la Barquera, Comillas and Suances) in the region of Cantabria, in which protected areas represent 53% of the FLAG territory. The regions fishing fleet comprises 31 vessels with are mainly used for coastal fishing.
  • ES217

    The FLAG area covers the municipalities of Castro Urdiales, Colindres, Laredo and Santoña, along the eastern coast of Cantabria. The county boasts a rich landscape of wetlands with canals, river deltas and muddy plains, including the Santoña Natural Park.
  • ES218

    The autonomous community of the Basque Country, situated at the easternmost end of the Cantabrian coast area, has 246km coastline, representing 5% of the Spanish coast.
  • ES219

    The Costa Brava FLAG area consists of eleven municipalities which are LLançà, El Port de la Selva, Cadaqués, Roses, L’Escala, Torroella de Montgrí, Palamós, Sant Feliu de Guíxols, Tossa del Mar, Lloret del Mar, and Blanes. The territory is situated in the northeast of Spain and bordered by the French Vermilion Coast to the north and by the Maresme Coast to the south.
  • ES220

    The Ebro FLAG operates on the Mediterranean coast, in the south of Catalonia. It borders with Aragon to the West and the region of Valencia to the south. The municipalities covered are located along the final stretch of the Ebro river, in the unique setting of the Ebro Delta. The most important port in the area is Sant Carlos de la Ràpita.
  • ES221

    The La Plana FLAG area covers the provinces of the three coastal regions of Baix Maestrat, Plana Alta and Plana Baixa. Fisheries and aquaculture only account for 5% of employment. Over a five-year period, fishing activity has reduced, and the number of active fishing vessels has decreased by more than 10%.