Fisheries Areas Network

FLAG Factsheets

Fisheries Local Action Groups (FLAGs) are partnerships between fisheries actors and other local private and public stakeholders. Together, they design and implement a local development strategy to address their area´s needs be they economic, social and/or environmental. Based on their strategy, the FLAGs select and provide funding to local projects that contribute to local development in their areas, involving thousands of local stakeholders.

  • PL231

    The FLAG covers 18 municipalities located in the south-western part of Swietokrzyskie region. The FLAG area is mostly rural, with jobs located mainly in the towns of Jędrzejów, Małogoszcz, Sędziszów and Włoszczowa.
  • PL232

    The area of the FLAG is located in Małopolska: relatively close to big cities such as Bielsko-Biała, Katowice and Kraków. It has a 700 year tradition of carp production in ponds.
  • PL233

    The FLAG is located in the North-Eastern part of Silesia and most municipalities are part of the Polish Jurassic Highland. There are 35 fish farms, of which 12 are quite large (and have over 20 ha of fish ponds).
  • PL234

    The FLAG covers five municipalities surrounding from the north-west the city of Bielsko-Biała. The area is characterised by many small farms, some of them carrying out carp production in cascade ponds.
  • pl235-flag-v01


    The area covers 11 municipalities and is located in the basin of the Odra river and its tributaries: the Nysa Kłodzka, the Mała Panew and the Stobrawa. The area is largely rural and has strong links with the fishing tradition. There are many active fishermen and NGOs dealing with fisheries culture, history, promotion of local fish products and education.
  • PL236

    The valley of the Barycz river is situated in south-western Poland at the border of Lower Silesia and Wielkopolska. It has an 800 year-long tradition in carp production in ponds.
  • PT201

    Located in the north of Portugal, the Litoral Norte (North Coast) is part of the Alto Minho region (NUT III), which is composed of 25 communes that make up five coastal and inland municipalities (Braga, Viana do Castelo, Caminha, Vila Nova de Cerveira and Valença).
  • PT2013

    Further information on this FLAG to follow.
  • PT202

    The FLAG area is located on the Atlantic coast in the north of Portugal and covers 12 local administrative units in three municipalities. These municipalities have traditionally had strong economic, social and cultural links with the sea (fishing, fish markets, fish processing, canning, aquatic and nautical sports and seafood restaurants).
  • PT203

    The Aveiro FLAG coincides with the Aveiro lagoon (“Ria de Aveiro”), the biggest lagoon in Portugal (60km long and 25km wide) which is a 'Bird Directive Site' included in the European Natura 2000 network. Several small-scale fishing communities can be found in five municipalities along the coast and lagoon (Ovar, Murtosa, Aveiro, Ílhavo and Vagos).