Fisheries Areas Network

Country Factsheets

  • The Danish CLLD Programme

    Denmark has a surface area of 43 094 square kilometers and a population of 5.7 million people. It consists of a peninsula, Jutland, and an archipelago of 443 islands, of which around 70 are inhabited. With 7 314 kilometers of coastline, bordering the Baltic Sea, the North Sea, the Skagerrak, and the Kattegat, the fisheries sector plays an important role in the Danish economy.
  • The Estonian CLLD programme

    With a population of approximately 1.3 million people, and covering an area of 45 227 km², Estonia is one of the smallest Member States in the EU. It is made up of 2 355 islands, the biggest of which are Saaremaa and Hiiumaa, giving it an extensive coastland of approximately 3 780 km. It also has numerous inland waterbodies. Lake Peipus, (Estonian: Peipsi-Pihkva järv) is the third biggest lake in EU.
  • The Finnish CLLD programme

    Finland, a country with a population of 5.49 million people, has a 6,300 kilometer long coastline, 190 000 lakes and a large number of rivers. mFishing is an important commercial and recreational activity. In 2012, there were about 1 500 fishing businesses, with the vast majority (97 %) owning a single vessel
  • The German CLLD Programme

    Germany covers a surface area of 356 854 km² and, with 80.2 million inhabitants, it has the biggest population of all the EU Member States. A relatively short coastline of 3 660 km means that coastal fisheries and aquaculture play a minor role in the German economy. The total value of all fish caught is less than 2% of the total value of the country’s agricultural output.
  • The Latvian CLLD programme

    Situated in the north-east of Europe, on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea, the Republic of Latvia has a coastline of 494 km (accounting for 0.7% of the EU’s 66 000 km coastline). Maritime employment accounts for 5.36% of national employment and maritime activities, mainly shipping, represent 7.71% of national GDP – fisheries account for less than 1% of this.
  • The Lithuanian CLLD Programme

    Lithuania is the most southerly of the Baltic States, bordering with Russia’s Kaliningrad to the west, Belarus and Poland to the south and Latvia to the north. Lithuania covers an area of 65 302 km² and, at the beginning of 2016, its population stood at 2.8 million inhabitants.
  • The Polish CLLD Programme

    Poland, a country with a population of 40 million people, has 491 km of Baltic coastline (775 km including the Szczecin and Vistula lagoons) and approximately 550 000 km of inland waters. Although per capita consumption of fish and seafood is fairly low (22nd position in EU in 2013), in 2014 Poland was the 9th largest importer of fish from outside the EU among the Member States, and also the 12th largest extra-EU exporter in terms of volume.
  • The Portuguese CLLD Programme

    Portugal has a total area of 92 090 km2 and is geographically located on the west coast of Europe on the Iberian Peninsula. It boarders Spain on the north and east, and the Atlantic Ocean for 942 km on the south and west. In addition to the continental territory, Portugal has two archipelagos- the Azores and Madeira, situated in the Atlantic Ocean.
  • The Swedish CLLD programme

    Sweden has around 90 000 lakes and a coastline of 13 567 km that is one of the longest in the EU. The coast reaches from the semi-enclosed Baltic Sea to the east, which suffers from eutrophication, to the Skagerrak, Kattegat and Öresund along the west. The latter forms the gateway between the Baltic and North Seas. The most important Swedish fishing ports are on the west coast.