Fisheries Areas Network

Cooperation Call

Western Mediterranean: Actions for the sustainable development of the blue economy

This initiative will allow EU and neighbouring countries to work together to increase maritime safety and security, promote sustainable blue growth and jobs, and preserve ecosystems and biodiversity. Five EU Member States (France, Italy, Portugal, Spain and Malta), and five Southern partner countries (Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia) are ready and willing to work together on these shared interests for the region.



By fostering cooperation between the ten countries concerned, this initiative has three main goals:

  1. A safer and more secure maritime space
  2. A smart and resilient blue economy
  3. Better governance of the sea.

For more information, consult this webpage.

Publication date: 
PDF Version